Home > Arthur, Characters, Turn Arounds > Artie Turn Around

Artie Turn Around

Here’s our first Turn Around from Christopher Yao. Click on it to view it larger.

Arthur Holmes
The T-SHIRT is changeable with each appearance.  You get to choose his ironic point of view for the day.

  1. June 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Well, I might as well start the comments. Is his nose Holmesy enough? I suppose it may not have to be, because in the original Paget artwork, Mycroft had a long slender nose. Is Artie supposed to have the Holmes nose?
    Heather

  2. Ty Templeton
    June 5, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Beautiful. As I expect from Christopher.

    My only comment is that I’m not sure I’d leave his t-shirt blank…that’s an opportunity for something ironic and funny….and is it clear he’s half Japanese? Not that we need him in a shirt that says SAMURAI or something, but I’d rather be blunt, than subtle.
    Ty

  3. June 5, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Is he half Japanese or half Chinese? It does make a difference…We’ve been throwing around both. We should probably settle on one. 😉

  4. June 5, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Hey guys,

    @ Heather – I suppose i could make a little crook in the nose, but honestly, I was going for the set apart look since its not direct decendancy.

    @Ty – ya, I think Greg had hoped for the ‘Hard Drive’ logo on a black shirt, but i wasn’t 100% sure what would adorn it, and just left it open.

    How’s about Artie Min-Holmes (Min is a Chinese name standing for ‘clever or sharp’)? Just a thought.

  5. Adam Gorham
    June 6, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Hey all! I’d like to comment despite not having anything meaningful to add. Christopher did a good job here, although it honestly wasn’t obvious to me that Artie is racially mixed. That said, I don’t have any solutions. I suppose if his race doesn’t greatly impact on his characterization in these stories, it may not be an issue. As always, Christopher impresses with his clean line work. Great stuff, my man.

  6. Pierce
    June 7, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Looks great, I think that keeping the glasses in drawing on the far left and maybe changing the hair color to black may help to push his mixed heritage.

  7. Jeff
    June 7, 2010 at 4:07 am

    I agree with everyone. Looks great. T shirt definitely needs a logo. I liked the skulls that you both did. Focusing too much on his mixed heritage could be a mistake. Leave him as is I say! Good work chris. This whole thing is amazing!

  8. Robert Pincombe
    June 8, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I agree, the darker hair colour will help with the mixed background without making too much by way of changes.

    I guess we should also keep in mind that if we are inspired by a t-shirt design, we should still kind of make it our own and change it up.

  9. Robert Pincombe
    June 8, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Terrific work by the way, Christopher. There’s a real life and dynamic look to him.

  10. June 9, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Okay, then, just a bit darker with the hair when others are drawing him, thanks…and we’re approved with this character. ALSO: As Pincombe just said, his shirt can change from story to story, in fact, I insist upon it. That’s a trademark I can live with from him. I will also ask that his belt buckle be that magnifying glass thing. I’m in love with that.
    Ty

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

