Home > Art, Design, Headquarters > Holmes Inc. Building Layout

Holmes Inc. Building Layout

More work from Mr. Yao.

Categories: Art, Design, Headquarters Tags: ,
  1. Jeff
    June 8, 2010 at 2:31 am

    I think it looks good though the first aid box looks just thrown in. I like the rest.

  2. Robert Pincombe
    June 8, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Simple and elegant.

    I like the waiting room being like Holmes’ study. I think this is perfect for the main office lobby once you exit the elevator.

    One quick thought: I went for a larger, skyscraper design for the exterior so if people are picturing this on the main floor then this would be in a very high atrium with a built-in 221b Baker Street recreation as the main entrance. So if it’s on the main floor this could be a self-contained box in the centre of that.

  3. Rae Wells
    June 8, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    I’ve noticed some exterior concept shots posted in Photobucket http://s765.photobucket.com/albums/xx291/fit-to-print/221b%20Baker%20Square-Holmes%20Inc/

  4. Rae Wells
    June 8, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    This is fantastic! I agree with Rob though that the ceilings come across a bit low. If you shrink down the relative size of the elevators and the front desk, then it will give the place a little more grandeur.

  5. June 9, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Nice drawing work here, but I think we need to up the ante on this. Remember building this set would be very expensive, but designing it won’t be. Let’s look for the most bang for your pencil buck here, and think about the character of the series and this family. HUGE! POWERFUL! WEALTHY! BRILLIANT!
    I agree with Rae’s last comment The ceiling is far too little low to convey wealth and success. And if we could get something looking like a column in there somewhere? Now, I’m not sure if Rob was intending for this image, but here’s what I saw from his description: The foyer is three or four stories tall, and it encases the original building at 221b Baker Street INSIDE it, with a glass ceiling above to roof of the old building, as though the Victorian building has been “brought” indoors. Or more properly, this new lobby has been built around it. And perhaps some fabulous looking foyer art, a sculpture or a fountain…that sort of thing. Push yourself to be eye-bulging, and see where you find your designs. Look at the foyers for Corporate Headquarters of Billion Dollar industries, and think on those terms.
    Ty

  6. Rae Wells
    June 9, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Maybe think about the way that historic bank building that is inside BCE place, as a point of reference?

  7. June 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    YES! That is exactly what I was thinking of…as well as the building that’s entirely encased in the courtyard of the MOMA in New York.

  8. Robert Pincombe
    June 10, 2010 at 1:28 am

    Both those reference points (MOMA and BCE Place) are in line with what I was thinking. I designed the exterior thinking they had recreated the Baker Street building, moved the original brick by brick or built around the real thing. (I also wanted to make sure Greg’s story still had everything he needed.)

    But since future stories may want to use the real 221b as set or plot as is, I think the reproduction idea is the way to. The original front is outside and the rest of the building is inside.

  9. Robert Pincombe
    June 10, 2010 at 1:36 am

    I also posted a bunch of exterior skyscrapers from around the Globe that I looked as I designed. They’re on the photobucket site. They definitely helped me find a a sense of grandeur, though I pulled it back quite a bit in the end.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

