Home > Design, Headquarters > NEW DESIGNS for the OFFICE and the TRANSPORT

NEW DESIGNS for the OFFICE and the TRANSPORT

From the mind of Jeff Rusland.

Sherlock Jr’s office.

THIS is the office of a well traveled, and highly eccentric man.  I love everything about it except the bear skin on the floor.  I admit it gives the room a lovely feel, but a) it steal focus and b) it’s politically incorrect in this day and age, and a savvy host wouldn’t have one out in a public room like this.    I’m thinking a Persian rug, or perhaps a set of two or three steps from a sunken area where one first walks in.  That gives the desk a literally elevated sense of power (as long as it’s subtle, and not about a desk on a pedestal).

We are starting to get the sense of these people  now.  I love this room!

NEXT:  Jeff does a lovely version of the TRANSPORT vehicle that gets the old guys around town.

Categories: Design, Headquarters
  1. June 11, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Wow! I’m stunned by your ability to think in three dimensions. I dig this office. I kinda like the bearskin rug, but mostly because I assume it’s 70 years old and he killed it himself.
    Heather

  2. Robert Pincombe
    June 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    I love it. Number Two’s office is as much about impressing others as it is about impressing himself. But it helps to have a grand environment when you’re dealing with so many powerful intellects and egos! And there’s a Jack Kirby grandness to it that makes it feel like this company is capable of anything.

    I think Ty’s point about the bear skin is valid. While Number Two might have a bear skin rug, he’s the diplomat/organizer/public face of the company.

  3. Robert Pincombe
    June 11, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I have a thought. If you do go with the sunken entrance and few steps up to the desk area, perhaps think about making them curved?

    Everything is very angular here and the exterior of the building has a combination of angles and flow. I always love juxtaposing the curved and angles for heightened drama. The desk here stands out perfectly for that very reason.

  4. Robert Pincombe
    June 11, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I think the transport is beautiful. It doesn’t stick out in public but the door is a hint that baby comes fully loaded with gear!

  5. Jeff
    June 11, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    thanks for the comments guys. I think I will adjust the room too match the curve of the building design. I did this before is saw that design. I’ll incorporate and resend. This is great environment to learn and get feedback. thanks guys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

